New Things….

….but not new things I have made.

It’s been a funny couple of weeks.  Very cold weather meant that I spent most days last week wearing my coat indoors between 9am and 3.00pm and getting very little done whilst J was at nursery.

And then at the weekend there was a great flurry of things happening.  First off I dropped my phone (one held together with gaffer tape no less) down the toilet.  I spent most of Friday and Saturday trying to get it dried out enough to assess the damage.  In the meantime my parents visited us on Saturday and within the haul of goodies they brought with them were:

A knife (I’ve got lots of knives so I made them take it back)

A First Aid kit for the car (I’ve got one in the car, one in the house and one in with my camping gear, so I made them take that home too)

Some teeny little stockings for the Christmas tree (ok, I’ll keep those then)

A couple of belly dance belts (ok, I’ll keep those too)

Chocolates (go on then, twist my arm….)

Another box of chocolates (owww, more arm twisting)

A bottle of wine (ooooh, ok, if I must keep it….)

Secateurs (long story, don’t ask)

A laptop (REALLY?  you don’t want it?)  It turns out that my mum got it from a friend who got it as an incentive when he bought a phone.  He didn’t want it, gave it to my mum who in turn spent three weeks playing Solitaire on it, decided she has no interest in anything it can do for her and so has given it to me. !!!  A while ago a friend came round to my house with her laptop and after identifying the network and putting in the password the laptop wouldn’t work.  I later Googled this (just in case I ever got a laptop – which in fairness seemed unlikely) and found out that I probably needed to get a dongle as my PC is wired, not unwired.  But on Saturday I got the laptop to connect via my home broadband and so now I was feeling all….technical 🙂

About an hour after my parents left my ex called to say that he had an armchair, did I want it?  Yes please!  We currently have a sofa that me and the two kids can get onto and the only chair in the sitting room was a creaky and uncomfortable wicker one – now we have a big old armchair so it’s all getting quite comfy.  I’m already looking forward to sitting in the wicker chair in the garden during what I hope will be a balmy summer (well, I can hope can’t I?)

And on Sunday I discovered that the dunking my phone took meant that the battery couldn’t hold a charge for more than 6 hours, and all of my photos, music, vids were wiped, and the camera would no longer work.  Time for a new phone.  I now have a pretty good touch-screen phone, nothing too flashy and got that to connect to the home broadband earlier so now I’m really teched up!

You may notice that no-where in this post do I mention dancing/classes/making stuff…..I’ll save that for later in the week, so in the meantime why not click on over to 1st Unique Gifts and see what the very crafty people over there have been up to!

9 thoughts on “New Things….

  1. Susie says:

    Well, it sounds like a good week, all in all. 🙂

  2. Wow – what a week!! Still, the goodies sounded like they were coming in thick and fast and a new techie is born!!

    Hope this week doesn’t involve dropping any gadgets down the loo!

    Ali x

  3. Caroline says:

    It always happens at once hopefully this week will be better. Put your phone in a bag of rice and leave for a week, may not be able to use but could retrieve some of the info.

  4. mcrafts says:

    You have had some week – really enjoyed reading your blog this week Mich 🙂 (hoping things are a bit calmer for you next week!)

  5. Jill says:

    I am sorry about your phone, particularly the pics on it – hope the rice helps. Like the sound of the goodies you got – especially the laptop. fancy someone not being interest in it. Sounds like snuggle time on the comfy armchair with laptop, chocs and wine. Hope you have a good week.

  6. Wendy says:

    I love the list of goodies from the parents. My mum always saves stuff for me (much less now she’s in her 80s) but it was always recycled and fairly useless stuff like bits of card, margarine tubs, and even (only once, I laughed so hard) a carrier bag full of tumble drier fluff. Ironically, I now use tumble drier fluff as firelighters for my wood burner – it’s brilliant stuff!! 😆

  7. Oohhhh chocolate and wine, somewhere comfy to sit and “teeny Christmas tree stockings”, what more could a girl want :o)
    Mums are brilliant :o)

    Jan x

Leave a Reply

