Belly dance headdresses – and other things….

The week to come is a busy busy one….

Amongst the motherly duties and volunteering that I do I have a new class promote via posters and fliers.  I hope it doesn’t rain this week as I really do not fancy walking around posting the fliers through doors in cold wintry rain.  Monday evening?  Not sure yet – might complete a choker, write a choreography (or at least start one) or have an evening off as I’ve got a full and busy week ahead.

On Tuesday evening I have troupe dance training/practice to go to as usual, and then on Wednesday we are all attending a baladi workshop with a fabulous dancer from the US who is here for a few days, Ranya Renee (very excited about this!)  Baladi is a traditional style of belly dance, a very beautiful earthy and folky style and the workshop with Ranya will be both hard work and a great treat.

On Thursday I’ll be sewing/promoting and I may well get to finish these two flower and feather headdresses:

 

I love making these kind of headdresses, and I have deliberately made these ones quite simply so that the pricing isn’t over the top.  As I have some of the base fabrics left I think I shall make another version of each but this time with more jewellery and bling attached so that customers can choose between a simple version or a mega-version.  Once they are completed they’ll be listed in my Etsy shop and then I really need to get on and complete the purple one that’s sitting on a head in my living room….

Friday?  It’s Bollywood night at my daughter’s school and although Bollywood dance isn’t really what I do I AM the only mum prepared to get up in front of everyone and perform as well as try and get some adults up to join in with a *copy me* version of the same dance.  I’m going to be doing a belly dance/bollywood fusion number that I performed in a troupe some years ago; the music is fun, and I can make the choreography a little simpler so that people can follow along more easily (note to self, I really must upload the track to my MP4 player….)

Once the Bollywood event is over I shall drop the children off at their dads for the weekend and next morning get to have that most coveted of things….a lie in!

At various points through-out this week I will be practising/reminding myself of a choreography that I shall be performing at a belly dance event (known as a Hafla) I’m going to on Saturday evening.  Now that I’ve decided what I’m going to do I’m feeling quite happy; I couldn’t decide on what to do until I realised that I have a choreo that hasn’t been seen outside of my Sunday class so I’m going to use it on Saturday.  As I have a small stall at the event I’ll need to make sure I’ve got everything packed into my wheelie bag by mid afternoon so that I can do a last double check of my costume and make sure I’ve got everything else I need.

It’s just as well I’m writing this down – I was thinking that by this time next week I’d have had a lie-in, taught a class and would have the children home, but in fact I shall be at the Hipnotic belly dance event I co-run every two months……wow, busy week it is!

As I feel as though I have been slacking on the making front I’d better point you in the direction of the 1st Unique Gifts Blog – by the time I’ve had a look at what everyone else has been up to I shall feel exhausted all over again but it’s great to go and see what people have been doing and making – all very inspirational!

 

11 thoughts on “Belly dance headdresses – and other things….

  1. Susie says:

    Sounds like you’re really busy, I hope it doesn’t rain! Those head dresses look lovely, they look like a lot of work. 🙂

  2. Caroline says:

    Another busy crafter, those head pieces look really good

  3. Planet Penny says:

    Multi-talented! Beautiful head dresses AND Bollywood dancing? What a girl!

  4. Wendy says:

    Sounds like a busy week – love the headdresses, they do look like a lot of work has gone into them!

  5. RosMadeMe says:

    Hope the weather stays fair for your delivery and good luck with the classes and dancing 🙂

  6. Jam Dalory says:

    The head dresses look great and good luck with the week ahead, sounds like its going to be manic! x

  7. Really lovely head dresses! I don’t envy you going out leafleting (I have been freezing all day and haven’t even ventured out!)

    You certainly have a busy week ahead – hope it all goes well.

    Ali x

  8. Great headpieces, reminds a bit of Barry Manilow’s Copacabana.
    I don’t think I’d be brave enough to get up in front of everybody now, but I would of done when my children were little.
    Have a great week and enjoy your lie in 🙂

    Jan x

  9. mcrafts says:

    The head dresses are great. Have a good week Mich 🙂

  10. Pickle-Lily says:

    Wow – you really are asuperwoman fitting all that in! Hope you’ve had a good week and all went as planned!
    Jo x

Leave a Reply

